Pond Nails Experiment

A little bit ago, I tried out a pond manicure based on the pond hearts tutorial from Adventures in Acetone. I loved the effect so much that I’ve been looking for jelly polishes like a maniac ever since!

First pond mani

First pond mani

Since then, I purchased a couple polishes that I thought could work out for a pond mani. Here is my mani that I did with the polishes I accumulated. (Excuse the random dents and nicks. I didn’t take a picture right away…oops!)

Polishes from thumb to pinky: China Glaze, Yellow Polka Dot Bikini; Wet n Wild Fergie, Fergalicious; Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure, Jaded; Sally Hansen Triple Shine, Sparkling Water; Ulta Nail Lacquer, XOXO

Polishes from thumb to pinky: China Glaze, Yellow Polka Dot Bikini; Wet n Wild Fergie, Fergalicious; Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure, Jaded; Sally Hansen Triple Shine, Sparkling Water; Ulta Nail Lacquer, XOXO

And here is a nice photo of all of the polishes.

WP_20131113_005

China Glaze, Yellow Polka Dot Bikini

This is a neon polish that I thought might have been able to pull off the pond mani look. Turns out, it can’t. This is definitely meant to be used as a neon creme polish. This polish doesn’t have the ability to build color that’s required to give the depth of a pond mani. Even though the formula seems a bit thin, it is not a jelly. If you have this color or purchase it later, make sure to use a white undercoat to make the yellow really pop!

Wet n Wild Fergie, Fergalicious

This color worked out better than I had expected, but I wouldn’t count it as a jelly. It’s a beautiful bright pink that applies easily thanks to a wide brush. It’s not a one-coater, but it just isn’t meant for a pond mani. I can’t wait for spring and summer so that I can wear this color! Just like Yellow Polka Dot Bikini, using a white undercoat will really make this color bright.

Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure, Jaded

I picked up this polish on a whim at Ross because it was deeply discounted. This polish is light in color and thin in formula, but not a jelly. Looking at the nail with this color on it, it lacks the depth that I love so much in a pond mani. This is a nice muted color and I think I might use in a Christmas sweater design.

Sally Hansen Triple Shine, Sparkling Water

This polish is gorgeous! This is my first polish from the Triple Shine collection. (I’m not sure why it’s “triple” shine…why couldn’t it have just been shine? Any ideas?) I knew this wouldn’t be a jelly but I just wanted to see it on my nails! This color is opaque in three coats which is why there aren’t any polka dots in the middle of my ring finger. I’m pretty exciting to wear this polish again!

Ulta Salon Formula Nail Lacquer, XOXO

This polish was the winner for the pond mani experiment. It’s a pink jelly that gives the depth of a pond mani. As a bonus, it has tiny glitter in it, so I won’t even need to top this with China Glaze, Fairy Dust. Since pond manis are so great with hearts and this polish is pink, I’ll be saving the official pond mani debut of XOXO for February. 🙂

Have you done pond mani? Tell me in the comments because I totally want to check them out!!

One thought on “Pond Nails Experiment

  1. You said that you couldn’t wait til Spring and Summer to wear the neon polish….who says you can’t wear it any other time of the year?? It’s like the old rule about not wearing white after Labor Day….do you…do what makes you happy…to heck with what others do. I don’t follow the rules where color is concerned…I wear what makes me happy!! Pastels in the Winter and neons in the Fall….why not??? Cute mani btw…I never knew Jaded could be used in a pond mani or glitter sandwich. I’m gonna have to bust mine out and play lol.

Leave a Reply

