CoverGirl Capitol Collection

Note: I know I’m really late to the party with this post. So, I apologize for the tardiness.

I’m pretty sure everyone has heard of the Hunger Games and if you haven’t, it’s possible you might have been living under a rock or in a cave. (Not that there’s anything wrong with living under a rock or a cave, mind you.) Thanks to the movies, The Hunger Games is a household phrase that all of us are glad we don’t have to actually participate in. I didn’t read the books when I was younger, however I did read them before the first movie came out. I finished the first one over a weekend and the next weekend I finished the last two.

I was pretty excited when I heard that CoverGirl was going to be doing a special collection for the movies. When the display finally got to my local Rite Aid, I snatched up one of each of the colors of polish they had in stock. My Rite Aid had a display like the one below, with room for four polish colors. (I believe this photo was taken of a display in Meijer.)

After flipping through the look book that gives you ideas for looks to complement each district (I thought they were mostly unwearable, but fun to look at), I noticed there were more polish colors. I lightly searched some other drugstores for the other colors, but I had little hope of finding them. Although I did find a polish and nail wrap pack at Wal-Mart that I bought. I figured that was as good as it would get within driving distance, so I went to Ebay. There were listings available so that I was able to purchase all the colors in the Capitol Collection. The colors are below. (I’m sorry about the randomly changing picture quality, my boyfriend got me a new camera for Christmas, so some photos were taken with a much better camera!)

Scalding Emerald, Flamed Out, Rogue Red, Sulfur Blaze

Scalding Emerald, Flamed Out, Rogue Red, Sulfur Blaze

Black Heat, Seared Bronze, Pyro Pink, Violet Flicker, Inferno

Black Heat, Seared Bronze, Pyro Pink, Violet Flicker, Inferno

Scalding Emerald

This is a fairly sheer color. It will definitely need several coats to reach opacity. The green and gold sparkle is nice, but I didn’t put this on my nails and immediately think “emerald!” Understandably, bright green is not a key color for the Hunger Games, however I’m not sure if I would even call this an emerald. This isn’t my favorite of the collection and I don’t see myself wearing it again. I’m swatched this below with several coats (2-3). My index and ring finger have a white undercoat.

Scalding Emerald

Scalding Emerald

Scalding Emerald

Scalding Emerald, showing some of the sparkle

Flamed Out

This is a bright orange with lots of sparkle for your nails! I was completely surprised by this color. I expected a puny, sheer orange color and this is what came out of the bottle. This is 2.5 coats with no undercoat! I couldn’t believe it. I love this color and would definitely wear it again. This is one of the colors that I had to order on ebay and with pigment like this, it’s no wonder it’s so popular.

Flamed Out

Flamed Out

Rogue Red

This is a really gorgeous sparkly red. I really enjoyed this color. It wasn’t as much of a surprise as Flamed Out, since I fully expected this red to have some good color to it. This is swatched 2.5 coats over a white undercoat. Although, I don’t think it would actually need the undercoat. When I first bought these colors and was looking at them, I had a small fear they might be glitter toppers.

Rogue Red

Rogue Red

Sulfur Blaze

Sulfur Blaze is another surprise color. It is a bright yellow with the sparkle that is standard in this collection. I swatched it with 2.5 coats over a white undercoat. While this yellow may not need an undercoat, I always feel better about yellow polishes if there is an undercoat. I have a feeling I will be wearing this again in the spring.

Sulfur Blaze

Sulfur Blaze

Black Heat

Black Heat is gorgeous black with gold flecks in it. It reached opacity easily in two coats. My swatch has no undercoat. I really love black colors with shimmer or glitter in them, so this color is great. The sparkle takes the edge off the black so your nails aren’t as intense as pure black.

Black Heat

Black Heat

Seared Bronze

This is another color that disappointed me. Looking at the photo now, it looks pretty good for a bronze. However, the bottle in person has a bunch of red and orange micro glitters that I thought would show through for some lovely color. Instead they blended together for this brown look. For me, I suppose I want my browns to be deep and rich instead of light and sparkly. This is 2-3 coats with a white undercoat.

Seared Bronze

Seared Bronze

Pyro Pink

Pyro Pink was difficult to capture on camera and it’s actually somewhere in between the two pictures. It’s not as light as the top photo, but it’s not a neon pink like it’s showing in the second photo. Overall it is a nice pink that isn’t super girly, despite the glitter. This is two coats with a white undercoat. I’m also wearing the Tawny Flame nail stickers that came with Black Heat bottle that I purchased. I have yet to like nail stickers.

Pyro Pink

Pyro Pink

Pyro Pink

Pyro Pink (flash)

Violet Flicker

Violet Flicker is a purple-y color with blue flecks in it. Although it’s purple, it seems very subtle compared to some of the other colors. Below, I’ve swatched it with two coats and a white undercoat on my index and ring finger. I actually like it without the undercoat because I think it looks like it has more depth.

Violet Flicker

Violet Flicker

Violet Flicker

Violet Flicker, showing some of the sparkle

Inferno

This is definitely one of my favorite colors from this collection. Inferno is a gorgeous darker red with golden flecks. It’s somewhere between a maroon and a berry color. This color made me feel classy and like my nails were on fire. It was a perfect color for a glitzy fall manicure without being crazy. This is swatched with 2 coats and a white undercoat on my index and ring finger.

Inferno

Inferno

Inferno

Inferno

Verdict

Although some colors were disappointing (I’m looking at you Scalding Emerald and Seared Bronze) and definitely not for me, I’m so glad that I was able to discover Flamed Out and Inferno. For the most part I loved all of the sparkle and glitter in the polishes, but sometime I felt like there was so much sparkle that it was difficult to tell what the color of the polish was.

Leave a Reply

