NOTD: Tape Mani & Trigger Mani

Follow my blog with Bloglovin

This is a two for one NOTD post, yay! I traveled a lot in January, which meant I didn’t have my normal set up for nails. This made it surprisingly hard to do nails frequently. I was able to manage a couple manicures while I was away. I suppose I could have done more, but I was focusing on spending time with family, which was really nice. I was also enjoying the nice weather in Hawaii and Australia since it was quite different from Seattle weather.

I did my first tape mani, whee! I see a lot of gorgeous tape manis in my Instagram feed and I’ve always thought they looked so good. This is my first time attempting a tape and I thought it turned out pretty well. It’s not quite on the level of @nailsandpolkadots or @idreamoflacquer, but a girl can dream 🙂 For this look I used the Island Girl, Aloha Magic trio. I used a coat of HK Girl topcoat between each stripe. Make sure you wait long enough between each color. I didn’t for one of my nails and really messed it up. I was able to fix it, but it just didn’t look as good.

WP_20140113_004

 

WP_20140113_007

The next mani is a trigger mani. I learned about a trigger mani from xoxo, Jen‘s glossary of nail terms! Anyway, a trigger mani is painting your index and thumb. Once I read about it, I really wanted to do it. It’s a nice twist to an accent nail. This trigger mani was done with Covergirl Outlast Stay Brilliant Glosstini mini in Oasis Orange and Sally Hansen Complete Salon Manicure in Grass Slipper topped with Revlon Scented Nail Enamel in Beach. This was topped with HK Girl top coat.

WP_20140121_009

 

WP_20140121_010

Leave a Reply

