Julep Maven Box: February, Part 1

Last week I received my Julep Maven box in the mail. This month I did the ultimate polish lover’s upgrade (not sure if that’s what it’s actually called). I really liked the look of the polishes, but what really won me over was the look of the eye sheens. They looked so gorgeous and I wasn’t sure how to choose just one for my box. The ultimate upgrade was the only box with all the eye sheen colors.

If you want to be a Maven, please sign up using my referral link. I would really appreciate it! (If you sign up using this link, I will get points that I can use towards Julep products.)

In my Maven box (featuring the Dramatic collection), I got 10 polishes, 4 eye sheens, a black gel liner and two eye makeup brushes. I’ve broken up the swatches because there are so many polishes and if they were all in one post, that would be a lot of photos. I don’t even know if the site would load there would be so many photos!

To start with I’m going to show you the Stardust Finish and glitter polishes. Get ready for lots of pictures!

Glam Roc

This is a textured polish; it has a “Stardust Finish.” From the Julep website, Glam Roc is a  “midnight purple & gold stardust (matte glitter).” It definitely textured and it definitely matte. I don’t usually prefer textured polishes, but when I wear texture I want it to be really glittery. That big glitter payoff is what I feel texture polish can offer beyond regular polish. For me, this color was not my favorite. I actually wore this color for a day to see how I would like it. I’m still not a huge fan of it. When I touched my nails it was always surprising that they weren’t smooth.

This is shown with two coats and no topcoat.

Glam Roc

Glam Roc

Here is a nice close up to show some of the texture and some of the glitter. Again for me, the glitter wasn’t glitzy enough for me, but if you’re looking for a dark matte texture polish this would be great.

Glam Roc

Glam Roc

 

Glam Roc

Glam Roc

Cameron

This is another matte textured polish. From the Julep website, Cameron is a “silver lilac stardust (matte glitter).” To me, this colors looks much sparkly and glittery than Glam Roc. I do wish I had worn this for a day since I think I would have liked it a lot more.

When I put this polish on, I also tried putting a top coat over it to smooth it out. I only used on coat because I wanted to see if it was really different. After one coat it was still pretty textured and it looked the same. I think it would have looked a lot different if I had used a matte topcoat (something I’m only thinking of now, of course). Even though this polish is supposed to be matte already, I didn’t think it was matte like Glam Roc.

This swatch is one coat and no topcoat. Perhaps I should have done two coats for more opacity, but one coat looks ok.

Cameron

Cameron

Cameron

Cameron

 Diamond Theory

This isn’t a textured polish, but it’s a glittery one. It has texture, but only because of the glitter. From the Julep website, Diamond Theory is a “full-coverage multidimensional copper glitter.” This polish is really gorgeous and glittery and sparkly! You know I love this polish because there are so many pictures of it :). This polish isn’t full coverage in one coat, but it’s quite good with two coats!

For this swatch, I did several different things to show you how great this polish is. Thumb-one coat; Index-two coats; Middle-one coat over white undie; Ring-one coat over black undie; Pinkie-two coats. I used one coat of topcoat and the glitter was still a tiny bit bumpy. If you’re a smooth-freak like me, two coats would be best. (Thinking about undies, I bet this would look great over a neutral/nude polish too.)

Diamond Theory

Diamond Theory

So you can see more easily what one coat looks like, here’s a close up of my thumb.

Diamond Theory

Diamond Theory

 

Diamond Theory

Diamond Theory

 

Diamond Theory

Diamond Theory

 

Diamond Theory

Diamond Theory

Leave a Reply

