Julep Maven Box: February, Part 3

I got my Maven box last week! In my Maven box, I got 10 polishes, 4 eye sheens, a black gel liner and two eye makeup brushes. I’ve broken up the swatches because there are so many polishes and if they were all in one post, that would be a lot of photos. I don’t even know if the site would load there would be so many photos!

If you want to be a Maven, please sign up using my referral link. I would really appreciate it! (If you sign up using this link, I will get points that I can use towards Julep products.)

If you missed it, check out Part 1 and Part 2!

For Part 3 I’ll be showing you the “cremes” of the Dramatic collection that was in the February Maven box. I don’t think I would call any of these cremes. They applied more like a crelly. For some reason, I think that cremes should be mostly opaque on the first coat. A second coat can be added, but if you apply a creme carefully you could get away with one coat. I didn’t feel like I could get away with one coat for any of these colors. For me, that was disappointing. However, all of these colors are super shiny. It’s possible they wouldn’t need a topcoat, although I used a topcoat for a speedy dry time.

On most of these, I felt like the cleanup was more difficult than usual. I’m not sure if it’s because I’m getting used to a new brush and new polish remover, but please excuse some of the polish marks on cuticles and skin. Like nearly everyone in the nail community, I’m still in search of the perfect combo of clean up brush and polish remover.

Something else to note with the cremes in the Dramatic Collection is that they smell really bad. They don’t smell bad like nail polish smells bad, they smell bad like a skunk spraying in your face smells bad. Usually Julep polishes have a sweet, almost flowery scent, but for some reason that scent did not come to these polishes. Someone on IG (I can’t remember who now) had mentioned they smelled really bad and I didn’t quite believe her until I had the bottle under my nose.

Roc Solid

From the Julep website, Roc Solid is a “vintage military crème.” This is a nice color, but I don’t think it’s one that I’ll reach for too often. Especially in the last part of winter and moving into spring, I’ll probably be gravitating towards other colors. I did however wear this color for a couple days last week. I paired it with Kristen for a trigger mani. If you want to see more of Kristen, check out Part 2.

For this look I used two coats of Kristen and three coats of Roc Solid. I used a topcoat on all nails.

Roc Solid

Roc Solid

Roc Solid and Kristen

Roc Solid and Kristen

Rooney

From the Julep website, Rooney is a “walnut bark crème.” This is a nice brown, but I’m not necessarily a huge fan of browns unless they are very rich or shimmery. I don’t see myself wearing this polish very often. On the bright side though, this polish is super shiny!

Even though this is supposed to be a creme, I used three coats to get to opacity. For a creme, this is way too much effort. Unless you are in love with this color, I would pass on this polish. For this swatch I also used a topcoat.

Rooney

Rooney

Rooney

Rooney

Judi

From the Julep website, Judi is an “English violet crème.” I actually really enjoyed Judi. It’s one of those colors that is very dark, almost black. Yet upon closer inspection, it’s a dark purple. This color would have been wonderful a little earlier in winter, but I’m crazy with nail colors and I wear whatever I want no matter the weather. I won’t be surprised to see this color on my tips in the summer too.

This swatch is three coats of Judi and no topcoat. I wanted to show off how shiny this color is. All of the cremes in the Dramatic Collection are extremely shiny; I just get impatient so I use a fast-drying topcoat. To try to show the purple color, I also took photos with a flash. Please excuse my washed out skin in those photos. I did it for you guys, haha! 😛

Judi - no flash

Judi – no flash

Judi - no flash

Judi – no flash

Judi - flash

Judi – flash

Judi - flash

Judi – flash

Octavia

From the Julep website, Octavia is a “smoky indigo crème.” Octavia is a really lovely color. For being a “smoky” color, it’s very pigmented. I didn’t look at it and think “grey/blue,” like I usually would for something described as “smoky.”

Octavia is a little more opaque than the other colors and I was able to get away with two coats and a topcoat. Side note: Do you see how shiny this polish is?!? You can see the nails on my other hand in the reflection on these nails! Crazy!!!

Octavia

Octavia

Octavia

Octavia

Leave a Reply

