Julep Maven Box: February, Part 4

I got my Maven box last week! In my Maven box, I got 10 polishes, 4 eye sheens, a black gel liner and two eye makeup brushes. I’ve broken up the swatches because there are so many polishes and if they were all in one post, that would be a lot of photos. I don’t even know if the site would load there would be so many photos!

If you want to be a Maven, please sign up using my referral link. I would really appreciate it! (If you sign up using this link, I will get points that I can use towards Julep products.)

If you missed it, check out Part 1Part 2 and Part 3!

For Part 4, I’ll be talking about the eye sheens and gel liner I received in my Maven box. Malisa received one eye sheen in her box as well so you’ll get a comparison photo for that color. I’ll also be going over some tips and thoughts for wearing the eye sheens at the end.

Four eye sheens were included in my box: Warm Fig Shimmer, Dusty Taupe Shimmer, Deep Bronze Shimmer and Pale Nude Shimmer.

Eye Sheens

Eye Sheens

The packaging is really nice; I especially appreciated the colored box tops! The eye sheens themselves seem a bit small for such a big box.

Eye sheens

Eye sheens

The product is pretty liquidy, which is something I didn’t expect. For some reason, I thought they would be more like the Maybelline Color Tattoo eye shadows. Hopefully this picture can give you an idea of the consistency of the product.

Clockwise from top left: Warm Fig, Dusty Taupe, Deep Bronze, Pale Nude

Clockwise from top left: Warm Fig, Dusty Taupe, Deep Bronze, Pale Nude

Warm Fig and Dusty Taupe

Warm Fig and Dusty Taupe

Deep Bronze and Pale Nude

Deep Bronze and Pale Nude

Alright, enough product shots. Here are swatches of each color. They really stayed put! After they dried, I ran my hand over them and none of the colors moved. I was very happy to see that they had some staying power.

Warm Fig, Dusty Taupe, Deep Bronze, Pale Nude

Warm Fig, Dusty Taupe, Deep Bronze, Pale Nude

Warm Fig, Dusty Taupe, Deep Bronze, Pale Nude

Warm Fig, Dusty Taupe, Deep Bronze, Pale Nude

For a helpful color comparison, Malisa received Warm Fig Shimmer in her Maven box. She has a different skin tone than I do, so I wanted to share her swatch as well (just in case not everyone is pale like they’re never seen the sun).

Warm Fig Shimmer, Malisa

Warm Fig Shimmer, Malisa

Warm Fig Shimmer, Malisa

Blurry Warm Fig to see the sparkle!

In addition to the eye sheens, my box also came with a black gel eye liner pot.

Jet Black

Jet Black

Jet Black gel eye liner swatched on my hand

Jet Black gel eye liner swatched on my hand

When I first got my box, I immediately wanted to play with these eye sheens! They look like the kind of colors that will be flattering on everyone. Julep has a blog post up that goes over a look using all of the eye sheens. I don’t usually do thing that complex with my eye makeup, because let’s face it, I’m just not that good at it. After trying the look and wearing them a few times, here are some tips that I’ve discovered.

  • Use a very thin layer to begin with. You can always add more if you want more pigment. For the initial application, use a really thin layer and let it dry. The first time I used these, I must have used too much. My eyelids were disgusting and sticky. Closing my eyes was difficult. So, however much you have on your applicator brush, use less!
  • Use an eye primer. I don’t often wear color on my lids because it creases fairly easily on me. For the eye sheens, I put some concealer on my lids to act as a primer. By the end of the day there was some creasing and color clumping. I don’t generally do touch-ups during the day either. I imagine the wear time would be even better with a proper eye primer and a half-day touch-up. With that being said, getting to the end of the day and having some creasing or color movement is something I expect.
  • Use these eye sheens with other finishes. When I recreated the look on the Julep blog, my eyes looked like a massive shimmery spot on my face. It was hard to tell the difference between colors, it was just one big shimmery blob! This could be because of my inability to wear makeup on my eyes or blend anything. At the same time, all of the colors are shimmers, so I wasn’t surprised. I think these will look best mixed with some matte colors as well.
  • The amount of product you receive is fairly large in comparison to the amount of product you would use. Honestly, I never plan on finishing any of these colors. If you are someone who likes to finish a makeup product and then move on, don’t buy all four! You will have them forever!

Overall, I’m happy that I have all four colors and I enjoy wearing them. I only wear one at a time, either by itself or with matte color. However, if I were to do it again, I would only pick one color to purchase. I didn’t actually need all four colors and I’ll never finish them! One would have been just fine for the amount of makeup that I wear.

Leave a Reply

