Sally Girl Ice Cream Shoppe Collection (Dupe Alert!)

The other day Gianna over at Nouveau Cheap posted some photos of some Sally Girl polishes on her Instagram.

Side note: Nouveau Cheap is one of my absolute favorite blogs and instagrams to follow. Gianna is top notch, so go follow her! Plus, you get bonus #paulruddsunday pics on her Instagram. It’s a win for everyone.

Back to the topic at hand, Sally Girl polishes! The polish she posted about were the Ice Cream Shoppe collection for March. I was already at Sally’s Beauty Supply and the Ice Cream Shoppe polishes were there are the counter, so I picked them up! Sally Girl polish comes in a mini size and they’re $0.99, so I figured, why not? As a bonus, I used a 15% off coupon, so they were only $0.94. Yay for saving $0.05, haha!!

Also, these Sally Girl polishes look to be pretty good dupes for the Deborah Lippman Staccato polishes. I actually have two of the Deborah Lippman polishes from the Staccato collection that I grabbed on a crazy good sale. I’ll have to do a post to really compare the two collections. I don’t know about you, but if Sally Girl is comparable to Deborah Lippmann, I’d rather pay $0.99 for my polish than $20.

The only bad thing about these polishes is the removal. Because it’s a glitter polish, it’s hard to remove. Because there’s lots of glitters, they get everywhere! Be prepared to invest some time in the removal and clean up for these polishes.

 Chocolate Chip

This is a creamy white polish with black glitters. I believe this is a dupe for Deborah Lippmann, Polka Dots & Moonbeams. Application was easy and the glitters were very abundant! Absolutely no fishing around.

This swatch is two coats and a topcoat.

Chocolate Chip

Chocolate Chip

Chocolate Chip, close up

Chocolate Chip, close up

Mint Chip

This is a creamy mint polish with black glitters. I believe this is a dupe for Deborah Lippmann, Rockin’ Robin. The Sally Girl color is a little more green than Rockin’ Robin. I’ll do a post comparing the two polishes.

Again, application was easy, lots of glitters and no fishing.

This swatch is two coats and a topcoat.

Mint Chip

Mint Chip

Mint Chip in all it's creamy goodness!

Mint Chip in all its creamy goodness!

Cherry Chip

This is a creamy pink polish with black glitters. I believe this is a dupe for Deborah Lippmann, I’m Not Edible. I think the Sally Girl polish is a bit more pigmented than I’m Not Edible. I’ll do a post comparing the two polishes.

Again, application was easy, lots of glitters and no fishing.

This swatch is two coats and a topcoat.

Cherry Chip

Cherry Chip

Cherry Chip

Cherry Chip

Grape Sherbert*

This is a creamy purple polish with black glitters. I really like this one because it’s a departure from the normal “chipped” ice cream colors.

Again, application was easy, lots of glitters and no fishing.

This swatch is two coats and a topcoat.

*<rant>I don’t know why this polish is called Grape Sherbert instead of Sherbet. Personally, I’m not impressed that a company has purposely put a typo on a product name. For more info on sherbet vs. sherbert, check out Grammarist. Don’t get me wrong, when I was little I said sherbert because I didn’t know any better. Now I do. And at some point, wouldn’t the little red squiggly line under the word “sherbert” have given someone pause? Anyone? Sigh. </rant> On a totally separate thread, I hope Grammarist and Grammar Girl are BFFs.

Grape Sherbert

Grape Sherbert

Grape Sherbert

Grape Sherbert

2 thoughts on “Sally Girl Ice Cream Shoppe Collection (Dupe Alert!)

  1. Oh my goodness, I wish I would have seen this post earlier! Thank you, thank you, thank you for the love! I’m blushing over here! I cannot WAIT to share your gorgeous pics on the blog. You are THE BEST! xoxo

Leave a Reply

