J’Adore Vox Box

A couple weeks ago I received the J’Adore Vox Box from Influenster to review. I posted about it on Instagram, but I haven’t really done any update on how I’ve been using it. Here’s what was in my Vox Box:

  • Kiss Looks So Natural Lashes
  • HERSHEY KISSES Milk Chocolate (not pictured due to eating them 😉  )
  • Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask
  • John Frieda Frizz Ease 3-Day Straight Flat Iron Spray
  • Red Rose Simply Indulgent Teas in Creme Caramel

I’ll be honest, I haven’t tried the 3-Day Straight Flat Iron Spray because I haven’t straightened my hair yet. It’s supposed to be used on wet hair and then you blow dry it straight. I don’t actually own a hair dryer, so I just need to plan for enough time for my hair to air dry and then for me to straighten it.

Overall, I was very pleased with this box. I got to try some things I normally wouldn’t purchase. Spoiler, I really loved the lashes and the face mask. Those might become more regular items in my routine.

If you to be a part of Influenster, let me know. I have some invites that I would be happy to send!

HERSHEY KISSES Milk Chocolate

OK, these are pretty standard. I ate them, they were delicious. I meant to make some fun pretzel bites with them, but it turns out when you keep eating something it eventually disappears. Ulgh, logic.

Red Rose Simply Indulgent Teas

In the box, there were three bags of Creme Caramel tea. I don’t usually drink tea by myself, but I decided to go crazy and have a cup of tea. For the record, usually Andrew prepares loose tea for us. I tried to do it once and not only did the tea taste awful because I used way too much, but I almost broke one of our tea devices. So…yeah, I don’t usually make tea.

Anyway, I made some according to the directions. I steeped the tea for about 5 minutes and added some coconut milk. I thought it tasted quite creamy. I probably should have added some sugar though. I thought it tasted a little bit salty, nothing crazy, just a bit. If course that could be because my taste buds are weird or it could be from the coconut milk, who knows.

I would probably buy this again if Andrew were with me to pick out some flavors. I think I saw they had a spiced chai flavor and I love chai! I might try that one next.

Morning tea at my desk

Morning tea at my desk

Kiss Looks So Natural Lashes

I’m not going to lie, I was skeptical about these lashes. I’ve only worn false lashes once. I was having my makeup done and the makeup artist put them on. Perhaps she didn’t apply them very well, because the ends started popping off almost immediately. I thought that was just how false lashes were.

These lashes mark the very first time I put on false eyelashes myself! The Kiss lashes were actually a perfect length for my eye; I didn’t have to trim them down at all. This package came with eyelash glue, so I used that on the edge of the lashes. For most of the process, I used tweezers to hold the eyelashes. After the glue dried a bit and turned clear (the glue was super cool, when wet it was iridescent!), I placed the eyelashes as close to my lash line as possible. My eyelashes are naturally quite long and very curved, so I had to come in from above with the false lashes. I pushed the ends down and voila! I had just applied my first set of false lashes!

At the very end, I pushed my real eyelashes back against my eyelid to help mix the real and false lashes and to really help the false lashes stay in place. When I was ready to take these off, I was able to easily peel them off of my eyes. I’ll be able to use them again, yay!

On the box it claims that the lashes look more natural and feel softer than other lashes. The ends of the lashes are tapered, so that helps with the natural look. When I wore these, I asked some of my friends what they thought and they said it looked like I found the best mascara ever! I can’t really comment on the softness vs. other lashes since I just don’t wear any other lashes.

Overall, I really liked these lashes. This is something I was happy to try, especially since I would never purchase it myself. Now that I know how easy it is to wear lashes, I might make it a habit! When I wore these, they were still going strong when I took them off after 9 hours. Check out the photos below for how I wore them! (Sorry for the photo quality, I took them on my phone.)

Lashes in their holder

Lashes in their holder

Lash close up, you can see the tapered ends.

Lash close up, you can see the tapered ends.

Selfie, wearing the lashes and a sassy red lip :)

Selfie, wearing the lashes and a sassy red lip 🙂

3 hours later, still going strong!

3 hours later, still going strong!

Boots Botanics Shine Away Ionic Clay Mask

The last item that I tried in my Vox Box, is a clay mask from Boots. In the past, I haven’t done anything with masks, so I was super excited to try this one! On the bottle, it claims to remove impurities and deeply cleanse while leaving skin clearer, softer and smoother. I’ve been able to use it twice. I’ve definitely thought my skin felt super smooth after each application. Interestingly, the claims on the bottle have to do with removing impurities and improving skin texture & imperfections. It doesn’t say anything about shine. It makes me think the name of the mask is a bit of a misnomer.

I really enjoy using this mask and I would use it again. It’s less than $10 most places, so I might even purchase it after this bottle is gone. One thing to note is to shake it before using since it can get watery. The first time I used it, I didn’t shake it and it went all over the sink!

Mask drying on my face

Mask drying on my face

I received these products complimentary from Influenster for testing purposes.

Leave a Reply

