MKGlam VoxBox

Today I have the Mary Kay Sun-Kissed #MKGlam VoxBox to share with you. I received these products to try out, compimentaty from Influenster. If you’d like to sign up for Influenster, let me know and I’ll send you an invite!

Tl;dr? The NouriShine Lip Gloss is awesome! It comes in 14 shades!

This #MKGlam VoxBox is all about summer! Warm colors with some shimmer to show off a summer glow is the theme of this box. Specifically, “products…to brighten your spring look and get ready for the summer! … warm and sun-kissed tones, soft peachy pinks and bold corals.” I’m super pale, so I actually don’t have a summer glow, but that certainly wasn’t going to stop me from trying out the products in the box!

Some of the products I tried, I really enjoyed. There are a couple products I didn’t try because I just don’t wear them. I’ll most likely end up sending them to Malisa and she can tell you how they work! Here are my thoughts on all of the products I tried.

Brushes

I received a powder brush and a cream eye color/concealer brush. I have been using the powder brush regularly. I have really enjoyed the powder brush. It’s a nice dome shape and it’s not too dense. I have a powder brush that is extremely dense and sometimes I don’t like using it. The Mary Kay Powder Brush has been a great alternative! It’s so nice to use and picks up a good amount of product. I think it will become my standard powder brush!

I haven’t used the cream eye color/concealer brush yet, but it’s very soft and flexible. If it performs anything like the powder brush, it’ll be great.

Translucent Loose Powder

This powder claims to soften the appearance of imperfections and feel weightless & natural on the skin. I have been using this powder as a setting powder after putting on foundation and concealer. I’m really liking it! A light dusting is all that’s needed, which is great since I am seriously low maintenance.

One of my favorite things about this powder is the packaging. The sifter for the powder is able to open and close so that you aren’t overwhelmed with too much product. I know other packaging has things like this, such as my powder from Smashbox. However, the Mary Kay packaging is better.

Overall, a great powder that I would recommend. It’s translucent, so it’ll will work for most skin tones.

Mineral Cheek Color

This product claims to absorb oil, have excellent coverage, protect against wrinkle-causing free-radicals and apply easily. Whew, that’s a lot for blush! The color I received is Shy Blush. I really love this color! It’s a pink tone with gold shimmer. I love pink blushes because my skin tone has so much pink in it so it looks very natural on me. I was thinking that I needed to branch out and get something a little more summery and then BAM! This blush appeared. It was exactly the color I didn’t even know I wanted!

I found the application super easy and very pigmented. I never felt the need for a second application. I love how the gold shimmer looks, not too crazy, but enough to be very cute. As far as protecting against free-radicals, I’m not really sure. I currently don’t have major wrinkles and I haven’t been using it long enough to tell. I’ll just have to take Mary Kay’s word for it with that benefit.

Shy Blush

Shy Blush, see all the gold shimmer?

Swatch of Shy Blush

Swatch of Shy Blush

Cream Eye Color

The Mary Kay Cream Eye Color claims it is a lightweight, long-wearing formula that doesn’t transfer. It can be used by itself or as a primer. The color I received is Apricot Twist (I think all of the #MGlam VoxBoxes had Apricot Twist in them though).

While I like the color, I wasn’t a huge fan of the formula. I’m pale, so the color actually showed up quite nicely. However, I found the application difficult. I tried applying this with both a brush and my fingers. The product ended up looking quite patchy on my lids. It might be good as a primer for other gold shimmery colors though. I was disappointed since I wanted to wear it on its own.

Cream Eye Color, Apricot Twist

Cream Eye Color, Apricot Twist

Swatch, Apricot Twist

Swatch, Apricot Twist

Lash Love® Mascara

Mascara is a fairly personal makeup item with lots of different options, preferences and opinions. Liking a mascara can depend on your body chemistry, what your lashes are like naturally and what the mascara claims to do. I don’t want to miss any of the claims, so here is the description from Influenster:

Love your lashes with the mascara that defines, defends and delivers four times the volume while looking naturally flawless, soft and healthy.

  • The flexible, sculpted brush separates and coats lashes.
  • Mary Kay® Panthenol-Pro Complex™ helps condition lashes and helps defend against breakage.
  • Water-resistant formula.

Overall, I’m not a huge fan of this mascara. I compare all of the mascara I try to my favorite combination from Clinique and so far none have come close. I’ll break down the claims so you can get an idea of what I didn’t like about it.

  • Four times the volume: I would say this definitely doesn’t do four times the volume. Maybe twice the volume.
  • Flexible , sculpted brush that separates and coats lashes: For me, the brush is key to why I didn’t like this mascara. It’s a plastic brush and my lashes do not agree with those. With this brush, my lashes clumped together like none other!
  • Water-resistant formula: I wouldn’t say this water-resistant. This flaked for me throughout the day and I was able to wash this off with warm water before washing my face.

I love my Clinique mascaras and this one just doesn’t cut it.

Mascara wand

Mascara wand

NouriShine Plus® Lip Gloss

When I was younger (and living with my parents), I used a lot of Mary Kay products because my mom had a friend who was a consultant. I remember getting their starter kit with eye shadow and blush and a lip gloss. I had forgotten how good Mary Kay lip gloss smells until this VoxBox!

The color I received was Mango Tango. This product claims to provide brilliant shine and that it will smooth, protect and condition lips. I think this lip gloss definitely lives up to the claims! This is by far my favorite product from this VoxBox.

The gloss is super pigmented and I find that I don’t need to add anything else but this gloss to my lips to get great color. It wears faster than a lipstick since it is, after all, a lip gloss. However, the tube is small enough (.15 fl oz) to comfortably keep in my pocket for reapplications. I also found the formula super conditioning and moisturizing. I usually keep a lip balm on my at all times for when my lips get chapped, but I haven’t noticed any chapped lips with this lip gloss.

I highly recommend the NouriShine Plus lip glosses!

NouriShine Lip Gloss, Mango Tango

NouriShine Lip Gloss, Mango Tango

Swatch, Mango Tango

Swatch, Mango Tango

Products I didn’t try

  • Bronzing Powder
  • Gel eyeliner

Full Look

For these looks I used the Translucent Powder, Cream Eye Color in Apricot Twist, Mineral Cheek Color in Shy Blush, Lash Love mascara and the NouriShine Lip Gloss in Mango Tango. (These aren’t exactly the best photos of me, but I was in a bit of a rush…so, ta da!)

WP_20140522_001

One thought on “MKGlam VoxBox

Leave a Reply

