A Box, Indied – May: The Deadly and the Beautiful

I’ve been looking for a decent monthly subscription box to replace Julep and Birchbox. Since I’ve become obsessed with Indies this year, I decided to check out A Box, Indied on Llarowe.com. I am absolutely in LOVE with everything that I got in my May, floral themed box.

A Box, Indied May

A Box, Indied May

Quick background info — A Box, Indied is nail polish themed box filled with 5 full sized polishes or polish related items. The box can be bought ($50) on a month to month basis or you can sign up for a year long subscription (same price just reoccurring payments). The five products can come from 11 different participating indie brands, and the 5 items are exclusive to the box. This month’s theme was “floral.”

The Blooming Desert

“The Blooming Desert” by Hare Polish is a very pretty glitter jelly bomb. Inspired by the cactus flower, it’s pink jelliness is filled with orange, white, and gold glitters. I only used 2 coats for this one. It’s very glitter heavy, and dried a little matte, so to smooth things out and add a little shine, I used my trustworthy HK Girl Top Coat.

“The Blooming Desert” by Hare Polish

“The Blooming Desert” by Hare Polish

Darling Wildflower

“Darling Wildflower” by Contrary Polish is a gorgeous dark purple jelly filled with red and gold glitter. The added fiery shimmer is so, so perfect with the purple. I used 3 coats and a top coat for this swatch.

“Darling Wildflower” by Contrary Polish

“Darling Wildflower” by Contrary Polish

Dead Man’s Bells

“Dead Man’s Bells” by CrowsToes is a black jelly filled with purple and green glitter. The formula was pretty thin, and the outcome wasn’t as squishy as I would have liked.  I used about 3 thick coats to get full opacity.

“Dead Man’s Bells” by CrowsToes

“Dead Man’s Bells” by CrowsToes

Poison Ivy

“Poison Ivy” by Black Cat Lacquer is a green jelly with gold and green glitter hexes, and gold micro glitter. The micro glitter gives off an extra shimmer that is absolutely beautiful! The formula was nice and squishy.

“Poison Ivy” by Black Cat Lacquer

“Poison Ivy” by Black Cat Lacquer

Honeysuckle Cuticle Oil

I’m obsessed with cuticle oils, especially cuticle oils that work. I’ve been a die hard fan of Bliss Kiss nail oils for months now. However, I found myself reaching for this new Honeysuckle Cuticle Oil by Glisten & Glow more often this month. The scent is a sweet floral that isn’t overpowering, and the formula doesn’t leave my fingers super greasy after application. The oil is made up of the following ingredients – Jojoba oil, vitamin e oil, grape seed oil, caster oil, apricot kernel oil, acai berry botanical extract, tea tree oil, and fragrance.

 

Honeysuckle Cuticle Oil by Glisten & Glow

Honeysuckle Cuticle Oil by Glisten & Glow

 

Overall, I think the Blooming Desert, Darling Wildflower, and the Honeysuckle cuticle oil were my favorite parts of this box. I can’t wait to see what next month brings!

Store: llarowe.com
Facebook: www.facebook.com/aboxindied

Leave a Reply

