A Box, Indied – June Destinations

Happy Father’s Day weekend, everyone! I don’t usually have a lot of plans on these parent celebration days since my family lives halfway around the world in Thailand. They have a different day set for Father’s day and Mother’s day anyways. But if you guys are doing something fun and exciting with your parents this weekend, then I hope you have the same beautiful weather we’re having here in Indiana. Seriously. I’m having a moral dilemma right now. It’s too beautiful to not be outside, but the World Cup is going on, and I can’t bring myself to miss any of the games. *sigh* First world problems, am I right?

Anyways, while ESPN is attempting to do some half-time commentary, I figured that I would share swatches from the A Box, Indied June box. This month’s theme is, “Destinations.” The makers featured in this box are: Different Dimensions, Girly Bits, Hare Polish, Jindie Nails, and Glisten & Glow.

Different Dimensions – Pelican Village

Pelican Village by Different Dimensions is probably my favorite in the bunch. The bright neon pink color is absolutely perfect for the summer. There’s a slight shimmer to the polish that’s not very obvious until you’re in direct lighting. I honestly didn’t realize there was any shimmer until I had the polish on, and started taking pictures.

Application was easy. The formula was creamy and self filled really well. The color was pretty opaque. I only used 2 coats for this mani. The polish dried a little matte, so I topped off with some HK Girl Top Coat to add a bit of gloss.

 

Pelican Village by Different Dimensions

Pelican Village by Different Dimensions

 

Girly Bits – Love Ya Beach!

Love Ya Beach by Girly Bits is a sparkling gold glitter bomb with an assortment of gold and copper glitters and turquoise hexes in a clear base. The base wasn’t too thick and goopy like some glitter bombs tend to be, so applying and layering the polish was easy. “Love Ya Beach” would actually make a very pretty glitter topper if you only wanted to paint on a single layer. I used 2 thick coats to fully coat my nails, and used HK Girl Top Coat to create a smooth finish.

 

Love Ya Beach by Girly Bits

Love Ya Beach by Girly Bits

 

Hare Polish – Escape to Palm Springs

Escape to Palm Springs by Hare Polish is a fun blue crelly with gold, fuchsia, and orange glitters in various sizes and shapes with a hint of a gold shimmer. This polish is jam packed with glitter pieces so absolutely no fishing was involved. The application was easy, as the formula was thick and self filling. I used 3 thin coats for this swatch so I could control the glitter spread a little easier. I topped with HK Girl Top Coat to smooth things out and add a little gloss to emphasize the shimmer.

Escape to Palm Springs by Hare Polish

Escape to Palm Springs by Hare Polish

 

Jindie Nails – Kangaroo Island, Take Me Away

Kangaroo Island by Jindie Nails is probably my second favorite in the bunch. This was definitely a surprise to myself since I’m usually not a fan of crellies in a white base. Normally the white in these types of polishes are thin and/or streaky, and it takes several layers to get opacity. However, Kangaroo Island, Take Me Away was everything I could want in a white crelly, glitter filled polish.

Jindie Nails - Kangaroo Island, Take Me Away

Jindie Nails – Kangaroo Island, Take Me Away

The white base was thick enough to only need 2 coats for opacity, but it wasn’t too thick to hide the awesome mix of gold, blue, turquoise, copper, and brown glitters that fill it. The glitter spread really well during application. I only used 2 coats of polish, and I topped with HK Girl Top Coat to add some shine.

 

Glisten & Glow – Wild Nights in Seaside Heights

So I have a confession. I’ve never used a hand scrub until now, and it. was. glorious!  Seriously, my hands have never felt such a softness before. The directions state to massage the cream onto your hands for 2-3 minutes. The cream is super lightweight, and just melts on your skin. It got a little greasy while I massaged my hands, but it’s only temporary until you rinse your hands off. The level of softness that your hands feel after you rinse, is almost shocking. The scent is pretty fruity and tropical with a hint of coconut. So after using this, not only do you keep rubbing your hands over everything, you can’t stop smelling them either.

Wild nights in seaside heights by glisten & glow

Wild Nights in Seaside Heights by Glisten & Glow

 

The June box is currently for sale on llarowe’s website for $50. Last I checked, these were still in stock.

2 thoughts on “A Box, Indied – June Destinations

  1. Aaaahhhhh!!! Your favorites are mine too! All of the colors looks so great on you!!!

    Also, can I just say how much I love your nail shape right now?!?

Leave a Reply

