China Glaze Neon Swatches

Today I have some neon swatches for you. A couple months ago, Groupon had a deal for six China Glaze neon polishes. I definitely recommend keeping an eye on Groupon deals if you want to pick up some polishes for a great price. You won’t get the latest and greatest collection, but they do have some good deals on older collections. Currently there is a China Glaze deal for some of the holiday polishes from last year and a China Glaze deal for 6 of the City Flourish collection. I wanted to swatch these and get them up while it’s still summer! Just in case you want to go grab any of these. Some of these are colors that are part of the China Glaze core collection, so they should be fairly easy to find.

f6e2a074-f21d-49d9-9864-9627d9e53a98

Kiwi Cool-ada

I’m going to start with my least favorite formula of the 6, Kiwi Cool-ada. Apparently, green neons are infamous for poor formulas. I thought this polish was difficult to work with and even after several coats didn’t quite live up to my expectations. The formula was streaky and I felt like there were still patchy bits in my swatch, although you can’t really tell in the photos. In addition, this was super hard color to photograph! This green is really bright, but you just can’t tell from the photos. 😦 This swatch is a white undie, three coats and a topcoat.

Kiwi Cool-ada in my light box

Kiwi Cool-ada in my light box

Kiwi Cool-ada in natural light

Kiwi Cool-ada in natural light

Yellow Polka Dot Bikini

This is a classic highlighter yellow that is super bright and makes me look tan. Seriously, I don’t even have to put a filter on this. 😛 Anyway, I don’t like this formula as much as Miss Ashleigh‘s And It Was All Yellow (which I’ve previously raved about). This is the formula that I mistook for a jelly once upon a time. You can see some of the patchy bits in the swatch photos. I thought I could get away with two coats, but it was still too streaky, so I added a third coat. For mainstream polishes, I have a general rule of no more than 4 coats of polish. This swatch is a white undie, three coats and a top coat.

Yellow Polka Dot Bikini

Yellow Polka Dot Bikini

Frostbite

Frostbite is a lovely and bright blue with some shimmer in it. Although the name says winter, it works great as a happy summer polish as well. The formula was really easy to work with. This one is beautifully opaque, so no undies needed! So…this swatch is commando…? (Way to be super awkward, Ed.) This swatch is two coats plus a topcoat.

Frostbite

Frostbite

Flip Flop Fantasy

This is another China Glaze classic. Flip Flop Fantasy is bright creamy orange/coral color. A few years ago, China Glaze reformulated FFF. I only have the new formula because I was ignorant to the world of nail polish a few years ago. Please don’t hold that against me. To see the original formula, just search for Flip Flop Fantasy original formula and I have no doubt that a number of posts comparing the two formulas. I enjoy Flip Flop Fantasy a lot. It’s another polish that makes you look tan, which is always fun in the summer. The formula is quite good and it’s creamy and opaque. On the bright side, China Glaze didn’t reformulate Flip Flop Fantasy into a crappy nail polish. I’m looking at you Sally Hansen, #sobitter. I would say this is my favorite color of the six. I have a real weakness for orange/coral colors. This swatch is two coats plus a topcoat.

Flip Flop Fantasy

Flip Flop Fantasy

Turned Up Turquoise

This is a lovely turquoise that would pair quite nicely with Frostbite. It has a lovely shimmer in it as well. Now that I’ve said it’ll look nice with Frostbite, I think I may do a gradient with these two soon. I can see it in my head and it is awesome! The formula on this was easy to use. This swatch is two coats plus a topcoat.

Turned Up Turquoise

Turned Up Turquoise

Turned Up Turquoise, trying to show off the shimmer

Turned Up Turquoise, trying to show off the shimmer

Pink Voltage

Pink Voltage is a gorgeous neon pink with a blue shimmer in it. It’s so bright and I love it so much! I just can’t help it, I love pink nails. This formula was quite easy to use, but it did need a couple coats to even out. As with most neons, this dries to a matte finish. I prefer all of my nails shiny and glossy, so I put a topcoat on it. This swatch is a white undie, two coats plus a topcoat.

Pink Voltage

Pink Voltage

Pink Voltage, showing some shimmer

Pink Voltage, showing some shimmer

One thought on “China Glaze Neon Swatches

Leave a Reply

