Striped Gradient Nail Art

Today I have some nail art for you! I did a gradient and then put some stripes on top. My color scheme today was inspired by my camisoles stacked in my dresser drawer. The color combo looked lovely together and I knew I wanted to try a mani with those colors.

I’m actually not a huge fan of this mani. I did a gradient and then used nail vinyls to add stripes. I wish I had left it at the gradient or done free-hand stripes instead. Yeah…this is just one of those manis that didn’t turn out how I saw it in my mind. Sigh.

I try not to feel too bad about manis that don’t turn out, even if I spend a long time on them, since nail polish is by nature fleeting. Let’s be honest anything I put on my nails is going to chip in a few days anyway, haha!

I started with two coats of As Long As You Love Me by Essence Beauty from the Beauty Beats collection. Yes, I have nail polish that was from a Justin Bieber collection. Let’s ignore that fact and just look at the polish. I actually really love this grey; I think the gold shimmer in it is so gorgeous!

As Long As You Love Me

As Long As You Love Me

As Long As You Love Me...look at that shimmer!

As Long As You Love Me…look at that shimmer!

Then I added a gradient with a black polish and Butter London, Slapper. I was deciding between Slapper and a different teal. After having done the mani, I wish I had used the other teal. Slapper was a bit thin and not as bright as I had hoped. However, it does look really nice as a gradient since it seems to blend very nicely. I did really love love love the black and grey gradient. I think it looks so nifty! This is where I wish I had stopped with the mani.

Gradient

Gradient

Here is the full mani with the stripes. I found the straight nail vinyls fairly difficult to use and I think the stripes were just too thick for what I wanted. I love using striping tape, so I might stick with that or do some free-hand stripe practice for the future manis.

Full mani

Full mani

One thought on “Striped Gradient Nail Art

Leave a Reply

