Mermaid Nails + Swatch

This mani is from a while ago, but I wanted to try to share it before summer is over! I thought the polishes from the Finger Paints Poolside Paradise collection would be perfect for some mermaid nails. They are micro-metallics with tons of sparkle and look just lovely as mermaid scales. I definitely need a lot more practice with drawing mermaid scales, but I’m really glad I tried this style. It took quite a long time to do all of my nails. Next time I think I will do this style as an accent nail or with a skittle mani.

I started with a base of Margarita Mambo. I used three coats for this level of opacity. I know I could have done two and been fine since I was going to put a gradient over it. I actually did the base the day before, so I wanted it to be a bit more opaque. Even with three coats you can still see a visible nail line at some angles.

Margarita Mambo

Margarita Mambo

For the gradient, I used the purple and blue from the same collection, in addition to Margarita Mambo. The blue is Surf’s Up and the purple is Wild Bikini. I definitely have to do this gradient again. It’s absolutely gorgeous!

For the mermaid scales, I used black and white acrylic paint. I was inspired by @narmai. She posted mermaid nails and a tutorial for them. Hers are a lot better, but again this is a style that I really like and want more practice with.

Mermaid nails

Mermaid nails

One thought on “Mermaid Nails + Swatch

Leave a Reply

